Adilabad: Demand for ‘Rythu Bharosa’ scheme for Dalit farmers

Adilabad: Participants in the public hearing meeting on Raithu Bharosa scheme said that incentives should be given only to farmers and tenant farmers who grow crops on 10 acres. Hundreds of farmers, tenant farmers and the general public attended the district-level meeting held in Utnoor on Thursday to seek views from various stakeholders on the eligibility criteria and other aspects of the financial input scheme. Deputy Chief Minister Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, chairman of the Cabinet sub-committee on Raithu Bharosa, members Thummala Nageswara Rao and Pongulati Srinivas Reddy, D Sridhar Babu and Minister-in-charge D Seethakka attended the meeting. Mesaram Jangu, a tribal farmer from Naranur mandal, said that the scheme should be restricted to tribal and Dalit farmers, while landlords should be exempted. He said that tribal farmers are unable to register benefits due to the increased expenses involved in growing crops. He wants the government to restrict the scheme to tribal and Dalit farmers. Karunakar Reddy, a farmer from Talamadugu mandal, said the scheme should be extended to tenant farmers, who constitute 50 per cent of the total farmers. He demanded the government to amend the existing Tenancy Act. The participants expressed views against providing incentives to landlords, real estate businessmen and rich farmers and non-agricultural farms.

A common suggestion given by a large section of the participants was that the scheme should benefit only those engaged in farming, especially small and marginal farmers. Another common opinion expressed during the meeting was that the incentives should be limited to genuine farmers growing crops in only 10 acres. The participants wanted the government not to extend the scheme to non-agricultural lands. Bhatti Vikramarka said the decision would be taken after consultations with all sections of the society. He said the government would not take a unilateral decision regarding the initiative. A report incorporating the views of all would be presented in the Assembly and the opinion of MLAs would also be considered. MP Godam Nagesh, MLC Dande Vithal, MLAs K Premsagar Rao, Anil Jadhav, P Harish Babu, Kova Lakshmi, Vedma Bojju, Vivek and Collector Rajarshi Shah, Venkatesh Dothre, Kumar Deepak, Abhilasha Abhinav, Superintendent of Police Gaush Alam, Dr Janaki Sharmila, DV Srinivasa Rao and ITDA-Unnur Project Officer Khushboo Gupta were present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button