9 women IPS officers came on stage

Hyderabad: For the first time in electoral history, nine women IPS officers posted in different areas will play a vital role in the smooth conduct of the Lok Sabha elections on May 13.

Even though the Election Commission of India (ECI) is making elaborate arrangements for smooth elections in collaboration with the district administration, many women DCPs are busy conducting peaceful elections in their respective areas.
Apart from eight women DCPs, Nalgonda district SP is on the ground round the clock to maintain law and order.

The officers include DCP Sadhna Rashmi Perumal (Task Force), Sneha Mehra (South Zone), Janaki Dharawat (South-East), B. Rohini Priyadarshini (North); P.V. Padmaja (Malkajgiri); Nikita Pant (Medchal); Sri Sai (Cyberabad Special Branch); Sunita Reddy (Maheshwaram) and Nalgonda SP Deepti Chandana.
DCP (South) Sneha Mehra faces a tough task in the communally sensitive old city, where contenders from BRS and MIM are engaged in vigorous election campaigns.

For the first time, a woman officer was appointed as DCP in the South Zone after the transfer of P. Sai Chaitanya.
These women officers have been deployed as heads of sensitive areas, key areas of the South Zone.
Deepti Chandana said that all the identified miscreants, hooligans, history-sheeters, habitual criminals and anti-social elements were linked to the rioters to create a peaceful environment for the voters.

“We coordinated with zonal heads and were specifically instructed to ensure that our respective jurisdictions were peaceful,” he said.
Another woman DCP said, “We work as per the rules and instructions of our chiefs.”
DGP Ravi Gupta said, “These women officers have been remarkable when it comes to coordination, maintaining peace and absence of untoward incidents.”

Back to top button